Sunday Respite – Homeward Bound to the ‘Shenandoah’


 

 

On a personal note, I bid Florida an adieu. I can’t say exactly a fond one, but alas the chapter ends. I begin a new one. New beginnings in a Masonic retirement community. Now closer to the old Bunker and family and friends. I missed the seasons, the colors, cool mountain breezes and the lovely stream that meandered through the homestead. Tomorrow I will arrive at my destination with excitement and some trepidation. An acknowledgement that time has taken a toll on mind and body and well, enough said. In a more glum moment I was going to choose “Hotel California” but this seems a better fit.

I had chosen this piece once before, and seems so fitting now.

Mormon Tabernacle Choir for our Sunday Respite.

“Shenandoah” from the album “Homeward Bound”

15 Responses to “Sunday Respite – Homeward Bound to the ‘Shenandoah’”

  1. Kid Says:

    Good luck to you, hope it goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks so much for the good wishes

      Like

  2. jtdorsaneo Says:

    Looking forward to a visit one day and wishing you all the best in your new location! Wish you had tried Lakeland first!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Florida is a big state!! 🙂

      Like

  3. the unit Says:

    Sounds like you’ll be happy there. Wishing you the best of times.
    We’ll miss you in Florida!
    I probably wouldn’t be happy in Florida myself. We live in Pensacola. When my wife and I married her folks and all their friends in Daytona and Ormond Beach had never heard of the place and had no idea it was part of Florida. Linda probably knows though where it is. Known as the Redneck Riviera… or LA…Lower Alabama. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I was too far south Unit… Sub-tropical… I love your area..white sand…. Thanks for your wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Simply Linda Says:

      Yep, the Unit. My folks still live in Ocala (42 yrs), not many know where that is. LOL Lower Alabama, we lived in Tuscaloosa for 20 yrs, and moved here to western NY.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit Says:

        Yeah, I read your previous comment about going through the tornado back when, and your happiness about living in western NY.
        I’m very familiar with Ocala. Horse country, Castro Farms and such. Also have very good friend from college days raised there. Tatum family. His parents are deceased now and he lives in Cocoa.

        Like

      • Simply Linda Says:

        Ohhhh I use to work for late Mrs. Castro as a administrative asst. way back when. Tatum family??? I’ll have to ask my hubby, are they orginally from there? I’m trying to remember if we went to h. S. With any Tatums. Of course, that was 1981-1985. Long time ago😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • the unit Says:

        Long time ago, heh,heh. Me and Bob probably older than your parents. 🙂
        https://www.ancestry.com/1940-census/usa/Florida/Robert-M-Tatum_4k2ydt

        Liked by 1 person

      • Simply Linda Says:

        HMMM(grin)…dad is 73 (1944) and mom is 71…that is so cool!!! Not many folks know where Ocala is. smiles. (and I’m 50–so that makes me ancient, LOLOLOL)

        Liked by 1 person

      • the unit Says:

        Yep, I was right. Your dad can be my patriot, little brother, by 2 years. And me your uncle Unit. 🙂

        Like

      • Simply Linda Says:

        😊😊😊😊😊

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Simply Linda Says:

    {{{Big, Big smiles}}} Just in time to enjoy the fall colors…or lack of them, LOLOL. Safe travels friend. I am looking forward to hearing of your new adventure, that is if you want to email me about it, smiles. Welcome Home. smiles

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Will do… of course the band will be out tomorrow to welcome me…. seriously a big step and glad to out all the responsibilities if caring for a property behind me.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

