Irma – Home again in Fort Myers


Thanks to everyone for their well wishes and prayers. The almost unbelievable is believable. Got back late last night when I heard things were good. With 138 mph winds it seemed impossible that a 38 foot travel trailer would be in any kind of identifiable shape. But prayers were answered. All and all, 100 percent so far and no leaks. Some minimal tree issues.

Even more remarkable we have electricity. And Internet, which is more than at the shelter. With much of the State dark, it was a special blessing as living without air conditioning is a total bear here in Florida. The main problem now is almost no gas. I managed to get back on fumes.

Three days in a shelter gives new meaning to Home Sweet Home. Many thanks to all those who were willing to give of their time and energy to make sure others are safe.

Special thanks to “David” who was wonderful in helping so many. Easy to categorize all kids as snowflakes and good to remember there are others.

I lost my mouse in all the mayhem. As soon as I get one, we will be back in business here at the Bunker. Thanks to Mustang for his help, and counting on his help in the coming days.

I intend to move on out of Florida and back to good old Pennsylvania not far from the original “Bunker.” Plans are in the works for moving to a Masonic Retirement Community.

And of course thanks for God’s blessing in sparing our community.

25 Responses to “Irma – Home again in Fort Myers”

  1. The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing Says:

    […] Irma – Home again in Fort Myers […]

    Like

  2. jtdorsaneo Says:

    We fiddlesticks. I so wanted to get the chance to meet you in person and now read that you are headed back to PA. If there is a chance to meet up one day before you make your exit, please contact me by email at jtdorsaneo@gmail.com.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Would love to! I sheltered in Lake City for three days and thought of you.. Lakeland I believe for you. Will wander over to your place and see how you made out. Not sure when for PA now as some issues arose.

      Like

  3. GP Cox Says:

    Great to hear you also had a good outcome! We just got power back yesterday afternoon – aah – air-conditioning again!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Which county GP? We were lucky. We had underground electric and cable and near a sub station. Once they checked us out we got it on. Hope you did well…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hootin' Anni Says:

    Been thinking of you….
    Glad to read you’re okay.
    And power to boot!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Lucky us.. we have underground utilities and got the ok since no lines were damaged. It was a wild ride as I am sure you can appreciate.

      Like

  5. bydesign001 Says:

    Wow! What an experience, Bunkerville. God surely shined His light down upon you and your family. So pleased that you and your home came out of Irma unscathed. A blessing, indeed.

    As for gas, my friend, check out Gas Buddy Availability Tracker: http://tracker.gasbuddy.com/

    Just type in your zip code or city and state They provide updates as fast as they get them. Many people download their app which helps because they’re kind enough to punch into the app if and where at their location gas is or is not available.

    On Gas Buddy’s main site, you can even find out the price of gas at gas stations in your area.

    Hearing from you, Bunkerville has made my day. Stay strong Bunkerville.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thank you for such kind words. Yesterday Wally got a truckload of gas in… I waited 40 minutes to fill up, but now should be good for almost a month! Thanks for gas buddy info…

      Like

  6. Steve Dennis Says:

    Answered prayers! Thank God! It sounds like the best possible outcome for you and your family. I am so happy and so relieved for you, probably not as much as you are. What a relief this must be!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      It is simply a bad dream that was almost a reality..

      Like

  7. Cheryl Says:

    Just catching this, Bunker, and very glad you are o.k. and your home unscathed. Blessing indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      God is merciful… Nothing from our friend south of the border…

      Like

      • Imp Says:

        Happy to see you’ve landed safe and sound in Ft.Meyers. One of my old stomping grounds along with Sanibel ( the Sanibel from the old days ) and Captiva. Further north we discovered another jewel of the Gulf Coast …Anna Maria Island. Typical laid back Florida paradise in a lovely B&B. I wonder how much it’s changed this week under Irma , especially the out islands. Of course by now you must know that the Keys have been virtually wiped out.

        The devastation is enormous and all encompassing. And they are without FEMA assistance, although there is the aircraft carrier, Abraham Lincoln beginning to supply water from their on board desalination plants. However, I remain furious at the states latest moves in line with the “predictions” along with the wrong again weather “scientists and experts”. They put millions of peoples lives in danger.

        Gouging in my area is pretty much the norm with those very few outlets that have gas. I’ve seen more that $1 per gallon and higher in Valeros and Mobil / Exxon’s who are always 20 cents higher than every one else even in the best of times.

        Enough of that. We bunkered down in our older, brick and mortar, constructed home, as we have for the past 8 or so hurricanes we’ve been through in our 42 years in South East Florida. But I have to say that Wilma in ’05 was by far nastier than Irma…at least where we are and that’s the limit of my being able to judge this hurricane against Irma. We escaped the worst of it! And I can thank God for this as it was truly and intervention as I saw it.

        Our backup generator kicked off an hour or so ago as our FPL power was restored along with TV and Internet. I managed to power my email and web browser by using my Verizon iPhone connection as a hotspot hooked up to the computers to answer texts and emails. Can’t say I can blame you for wanting to leave this all behind though. But trading the usually pleasant weather for a winter in the north is not in my future….LOL

        Welcome home soon to be Pennsylvanian!

        Like

      • bunkerville Says:

        Imp– right you are… lovely but the Summers are something that is not up my alley. We are talking about 5 months of it. I figure I can always stay inside for the most part up North. I do love the seasons. This was the latest for me… scared out of my wits is more than I want to go through very often! We were lucky that our community has all underground utilities thus after an inspection we were back up.. I can’t imagine trying to get by without air. No power north and south of us yet.
        Thanks for your comment, and wish you the best… we dodged a bullet.

        Like

  8. Adrienne Says:

    I let frequent commenter CassandraBird know that you are heading for PA. She just moved back there from Katy (Houston) TX not too many months ago. She said she’ll be in touch. Glad you, your home, and your kitteh are safe and sound.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks so much A for your kindness and prayers. We are one of the few communities untouched. Our power is underground thus one of the few that has electric. This was the final straw… looking forward to hearing from her… give her my comment e-mail if you could. I will check the Bunker one but I get so many nasties I try not to go there too often!

      Like

  9. Baysider Says:

    So happy you’re safe and sound. Been praying like crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      It worked! So thank you for all of your thoughtfulness.

      Like

  10. hocuspocus13 Says:

    My Son who lives in Tampa had no damage from Hurricane Irma

    His electric went down late Sunday night

    As I told my Son…

    Never estimate the power of

    PRAYER and CANDLES

    There is something very Magickal about the 2 combined together just like the Church uses them to light one to ask God to grant them a Blessing

    …oh and PS Dear Son

    Watch out for the Alligators! 🐊

    SMILE…life is beautiful 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      The power of prayer is magical. Jesus said, ask and it shall be given you… something like that… not a biblical scholar but I know you got it! Yes, snakes are on the lose as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Always On Watch Says:

    So relieved to hear that you’re okay, Bunkerville.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks AOW… I cannot get out of Florida fast enough. I got the lesson! Thanks for your concern.

      Like

  12. Simply Linda Says:

    I am so happy to hear from you…..Marion County is still without power, cable, etc. and its quite amusing to ring my parents phone and hear, “We’re sorry, this number does not exist.” They have had the same number for 43 years, lol. We lived without electricity for 2 weeks after Katrina hit, and nearly a month after the EF 5 tornado hit, which prompted the move north, wink. ANYWAYS, I am glad your safe and sound and lets get you back home to PA. smiles

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Power is out just a couple of miles in either direction. We are indeed blessed. Thanks Linda for all of your help and support.

      Like


Leave a Reply

