IRMA- Depending on the kindness of others


I am sitting here in a shelter in Newbury outside of somewhere in the heart of God’s country. Everyone is being so kind. I have yet to hear the news, but my home is/was in Fort Myers and not a good location. I had saddled up to one of the early bunkervites Mandy Williams in Bradenton, outside of Tampa thinking  I would be fine there as the home we were going to was fitted out with the best in hurricane accoutrements. Needless to say, by Friday it was apparent this was not the place I wanted to have the experience.

So I got on route 75 passed Ocala and Gainesville. No hotels available and what the heck,$100 bucks a night or more wouldn’t last long. Almost to route 10. I called Red Cross for a shelter. No one wanted me with the cat, she apparently was expendable. Finally I found one which was full but lucky me, a new one was just opening up down the road, and God took care of me to land here.

So the floor is kind of hard, and the food is a bit tough and being homeless probably is more than I can think about. Someone said it is turning west so I hold out faint hope of something left. Maybe a picture or two. I will write more as the day goes. But wanted to let everyone know I am alive and more or less okay.

We are in for a Cat 1 hurricane here, but I am told we should be ok.  Thanks for your prayers and well wishes.

 

35 Responses to “IRMA- Depending on the kindness of others”

  1. Links To Some Uplifting Posts (9-12-2017) – My Daily Musing Says:

    […] IRMA- Depending on the kindness of others […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Always On Watch Says:

    I’m looking for an update. Did I overlook it? My eyes aren’t what they once were — especially at the end of a long day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks so much AOW

      Like

  3. bydesign001 Says:

    Checking in on you, Bunkerville.

    Pray that you and the kitty or cat are doing as well as one would expect under the circumstances. Following Irma, my heart ached and I have been praying for you and your fellow Floridians since Saturday night.

    Stay strong. God will pull you through this.

    Never forget 911. God bless you, Bunkerville. God bless America.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I am so blessed to have such wonderful virtual friends.

      Like

  4. Angel Says:

    Bunkerville……G-d bless you this Sept 11th..will NEVER forget…ever…

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      With you on that one Angel

      Like

  5. mcnorman Says:

    You are in prayer. Thank you for taking your kitty. So many leave behind their most loyal companions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Never would I nor could I

      Like

  6. Steve Dennis Says:

    When I heard the track shifted West I was hoping you were still out of the way, I am so glad to hear you were able to evacuate again. I am sorry to hear that your house is in a bad location and am praying that it will be saved.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      We shall soon find out… down to a cat 2….. We expect a rough night here at the shelter but safe I am sure.

      Liked by 3 people

  7. Simply Linda Says:

    Bunk, you made the right choice. I didn’t get to you in time, but my old high school, Vanguard, in Ocala was accepting pets/owners. My folks are riding it out in their home in South Ocala, as is my brother who is a first responder and was sent home because he has 2 small kids . Been in constant phone contact, knowing they will loose it/utilities. If you get bored, you can email me. I can reassure you with the news on the first responder/staging areas from him. Keeping you in constant prayer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I wrote to you….

      Like

      • Simply Linda Says:

        I got it and sent you one back. Stay tuned friend…smiles

        Like

  8. Kid Says:

    All the best Bunkerville. Glad you found a place for you and your cat. Turning pets away is heartless, especially one as harmless as a cat. I hope your home survives and you don’t have much of an ordeal when you get home.

    Liked by 3 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      To be honest I don’t anticipate anything left. I may find a few pieces in Kansas. Thanks for your well wishes.r Right now 50 miles south of Fort myers. Will know very soon I expect.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Mustang Says:

    You are in my prayers, my friend …

    Liked by 3 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks so much… it means a lot to have such nice comments made

      Liked by 1 person

  10. hocuspocus13 Says:

    Only my Son lives in Tampa he went to USF and then got a good job in Tampa so he stayed

    As for me…

    I’m home where I was born and raised many generations back in NJ

    And we are having the most delightful Fall weather 🌞

    🙏 PRAYERS TO ALL 🙏

    I know what you are feeling I lived through Hurricane Sandy

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      xx000xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

  11. hocuspocus13 Says:

    My son is in Tampa

    He and his roommates chose to deal with Irma at home

    He says they are prepared

    Whatever that means?

    The boys said they are

    “bunkered down”

    PRAYERS TO ALL

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      You and your son and friends are in my prayers…. still open as to where the big one will land it appears.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. comradematrix Says:

    So happy to hear you & your kitty are safe Bunker! Praying for you and all those in this!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Matrix thanks. First bands are coming through here… Now talking tomorrow night. This thing won’t quit, Hope Mandy is doing ok as well.

      Like

  13. Adrienne Says:

    Glad you and your kitteh are safe. We’ll all help figure out something when this is over. You are not alone…

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thank you A… you are the best.. Sadly, I was to put my property up for sale as I had an agreement to go to a Masonic Village in PA. I had had enough of Florida…. it was contingent on the sale….life throws us curve balls.

      Like

      • the unit Says:

        Glad you’re at least bodily whole…and the cat. To say been there, done that is of little consolation at this point, except that after the curve ball of life, after being in surge up to my nose, floating my 90 y.o. mom on her foam rubber mattress in Katina I am still here 12 years later. Likely so will you on down the road. What they say about “things can be replaced”, well, perhaps so. For me replaced with something different. Hang in there.
        Wasn’t petermc3 somewhere in South Florida as well? Seems like I recall that. Maybe we’ll hear from him.

        Liked by 2 people

      • bunkerville Says:

        I had thought Peter was from Jersey…. but nothing from him Unit.. Fingers crossed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • the unit Says:

        Glad to hear the good news in above blog.
        Yeah, Peter either in or from Jersey, but thought he was now in Florida. May have him confused with another fellow who commented at Texas Fred. He from Jersey who moved to Cape Coral, I think name Wayne.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. JCscuba Says:

    Not a problem, if you need a place to stay I live in CA, I can put you up, J.C. You know where to find fe.

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thank you for your kindness.

      Like

  15. Always On Watch Says:

    No one wanted me with the cat, she apparently was expendable.

    “Love me, love my pets.” My mantra, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Very true…Now I know why they have police at every shelter. In a fit of unhappiness I told one of them would they please shoot the cat so I could go into the shelter… I would find it personally hard to kill her myself.. 🙂

      Like

  16. Always On Watch Says:

    Praying for you, Bunkerville.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. GP Cox Says:

    Best of luck!

    Liked by 2 people


Leave a Reply

