Sunday Respite – The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down


This is supposed to be a “respite.” I will let Adrienne express my views with her post:

What the hell is wrong with people? Crazies are running rampant in Virginia…

I first posted this song back in 2015. I picked it then because the news was full of the push to rid the history of the Civil War and any remembrance of the South’s participation. 650,000 lives were lost. Enough said.

This is a song about a confederate soldier named Virgil Caine and his days in the American Civil War. It is a very emotional and haunting narrative.

“The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”

Virgil Caine is the name
And I served on the Danville train
‘Till Stoneman’s cavalry came
And tore up the tracks again

In the winter of ’65
We were hungry, just barely alive
By May the 10th, Richmond had fell
It’s a time I remember, oh so well

The night they drove old Dixie down
And the bells were ringing
The night they drove old Dixie down
And the people were singing
They went, “Na, na, la, na, na, na”

Back with my wife in Tennessee
When one day she called to me
Said “Virgil, quick, come see,
There goes the Robert E. Lee!”

Now, I don’t mind chopping wood
And I don’t care if the money’s no good
You take what you need
And you leave the rest
But they should never
Have taken the very best

The night they drove old Dixie down
And the bells were ringing
The night they drove old Dixie down
And all the people were singing
They went, “Na, na, la, na, na, na”

Like my father before me
I will work the land
And like my brother above me
Who took a rebel stand

He was just 18, proud and brave
But a Yankee laid him in his grave
I swear by the mud below my feet
You can’t raise a Caine back up
When he’s in defeat

The night they drove old Dixie down
And the bells were ringing
The night they drove old Dixie down
And all the people were singing
They went, “Na, na, la, na, na, na”

The night they drove old Dixie down
And all the bells were ringing
The night they drove old Dixie down
And the people were singing
They went, “Na, na, la, na, na, na”

 

22 Responses to “Sunday Respite – The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”

  1. Hootin' Anni Says:

    Bud and I were just discussing this subject last night after seeing online news clips of it all…And of course, for weeks we’ve both thought the same….they may tear down all the Civil War Statues, but the whole history of those that fought and lost their lives and lead to a victory for a united union…well, they can’t change history by removing such statues. It still remains. I am appalled by it all actually. By I still stand by our military and those that protect us [not just military]….UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hootin' Anni Says:

      ps…that should read “But” I still stand….instead of “by”
      AND….I too have Weatherbug app. 🙂

      Like

    • bunkerville Says:

      I am with you Anni… I can’t even turn on the news much anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thetinfoilhatsociety Says:

    I’m not white nationalist. I’m not even alt-right. But I will defend to the death (and that might be a literal oath the way it’s going) their right to speak, to peaceably and lawfully assemble, and to march.

    They had a permit, it was illegally revoked and the ACLU had to step in, the march was illegally shut down right in the middle of it, and the police allowed Antifa to protest in the streets without the same permit they required of the Unite the Right rally members. They allowed Antifa to throw bricks at UTR marchers. They disarmed UTR members while not doing the same to Antifa. This is not acceptable.

    The craziness was initiated by one side and it wasn’t the followers of Richard Spencer, Baked Alaska, or any of the other speakers.

    I checked 4chan and apparently there’s video of right before the car thing where the guy was being threatened by Antifa who were beating on his car with sticks and bats, and they were chasing his car. So even if he was alt right I’m guessing he was legitimately in fear for his life. We’ll have to see, but there’s a side of the story you’re NOT going to get on MSM.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Black lives matter and Antifa was there agitating and we hear nothing about it. They had their permit. They should have been protected so that they could hold their gathering. Antifa had nothing. Either we have the first amendment or we don’t.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Always On Watch Says:

    I posted what I have to say on this topic — for now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I gave you my thoughts….it is indeed the devolution of our society.

      Like

    • Mustang Says:

      It is indeed the devolution of society, but I for one won’t ever accept it. I served my country and its constitution for 3 decades; no one ever relieved me of my oath to do so.

      Liked by 3 people

      • bunkerville Says:

        I am growing old and tired. Pretty much run my race.Time for the youngins to step up if they still want it… It soon will be up to them anyway. That is what worries me. Thank you for keeping on…and all that you have done.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Mustang Says:

    I have to say that these people clamoring to remove civil war statues and rename US Army posts is beginning to P-M-O. I don’t have any objection to people expressing their opinion, but when the only basis for that opinion is reliance upon the myth of white oppression, fueled by black racism or black identity politics, then I have to speak out. I’ll begin by stating that blacks flatter themselves thinking that the civil war was all about them, and then I’ll observe that the number one enslaver of blacks in the world was other blacks, all of whom were either victors in tribal warfare, or Moslems. And yes, I will admit that slavery was a mistake … but so too was bringing blacks to America, where the clear majority of blacks today clearly feel they don’t belong. As for looking back at the civil war, what a shame 650,000 whites died to free a people who today despise them —it is the ultimate insult.

    So no, I don’t begrudge anyone from expressing a point of view … I only think that before they do that, they ought to know what the hell they’re talking about. The danger is, of course, that the communists in this country are all about revising our history. If they erase our real history, then they succeed in erasing who we really are. They may not get their way now, but in another 50 years, they might get their way … and I think that’s what they are aiming for. It is, in fact, the modus operandi of the Democratic Party.

    Liked by 5 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Slavery would have fallen on its own for the most part probably, with the development of the Cotton Gin. I agree, my thought as well. 650,000 lives are not enough penance. Not until the reparations and whites give up and become the minority, Until then, scrub history and let them all become the nasty hateful people will we be through with it.

      Liked by 3 people

      • thetinfoilhatsociety Says:

        It was already faltering. In my research the reason the Civil War was fought was at least partly so that those freed slaves could be put to work in Northern factories. Which in turn were their own special kind of slavery. Industrial owners financed part of the war.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Always On Watch Says:

      Mustang,
      I will admit that slavery was a mistake … but so too was bringing blacks to America, where the clear majority of blacks today clearly feel they don’t belong. As for looking back at the civil war, what a shame 650,000 whites died to free a people who today despise them —it is the ultimate insult.

      I couldn’t agree more!

      We’re watching the devolution of our republic.

      Howard Zinn has won the day.

      Liked by 4 people

    • thetinfoilhatsociety Says:

      The Irish were preferred as slaves, along with Scottish, until they began dying in droves due to malaria in the swamps of the South. Only then were Africans considered for use.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. hocuspocus13 Says:

    BRAVO ✌

    I do believe that the DemoKKKrats are in total fear they will loose the Black Vote

    So let’s scrub history…󾓦

    Liked by 3 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Excellent point! That is what it is all about.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Simply Linda Says:

    As a History major, it is quite disturbing to see what is going on with folks and the nonsense of taking down statues, the confederate flag etc. trying to erase history, so to speak. One can never erase history, no matter how one tries to spin it. I have to laugh when folks say this or that offends me, I say, “Your BLM and pride flags offend me, but you don’t see me protesting or throwing hissy fits and tantrums or blowing things up or destroying towns.”

    Great post, Bunkerville. And thanks, now I am whistling “Dixie”. (too many former years of living in the land of Dixie, wink. As my son said last night, “I’m a southern boy, born and raised by the Grace of God.” I told him to watch it, some might construe that as racist.)

    Liked by 4 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      It is a haunting song when placed against the images. So young to die…. they deserve a fitting rememberance.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Simply Linda Says:

        yes, they do and History not wiped out by snowflakes…I just had to add that…makes me so mad…not that I support the neo cons and such….just saying.

        Liked by 1 person

      • bunkerville Says:

        Yep… I want to know who bought and brought all those tiki lights. Who bused in all of those coming in white vans…Then we can talk about it.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Adrienne Says:

    The libtards just won’t quit, will they? I spent 17 years in Texas and my husband at that time (RIP) was an expert on the civil war. I can understand why people are upset about removing all those statues because I’m upset. It’s all about erasing history or rewriting the parts you don’t like.

    Funny – most of The Band were Canadian and yet they captured the essence of American rural life.

    Thanks for the linky love, Bunk. Have a wonderful day. This will be our first day in over two weeks (a new record) that the temp will be below mid to high 90’s. Yahoo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Wow, here in Florida it has been what seems like months of 90’s heat. Great post at your place and comments as well. I didn’t know it would get that hot out there in your neck of the woods.Couldn’t have said it better than you with some great comments.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

