Fake news is working, Trump’s poll numbers dropping


 

While many of us may just be turning off the tube because we can’t stand the fake news, with much of it laughable, it apparently is taking its toll on the Donald. I turned on Morning Joe at 6 for a bit of an adrenaline rush, and I got one. Non stop on the polls. The worse polls since the beginning of time apparently. But we would be foolish to disregard the fact that diGenova, well-known attorney who represents whistle blowers, warned us back in February that a Coup was underway. The Left is determined to undermine him.Trump needs a win. While his executive orders have been swell, congress needs to get its act together and give him a bill he can sign. Disregard this at our peril.

Poll: Trump more unpopular than Obama ever was

CBS News14 hours ago
Overall, voters give Trump a 35 percent job approval rating, with 57 … Even among his base, his numbers continue to slip; only 39 percent of …
Has Trump hit rock bottom yet?
BlogWashington Post (blog)15 hours ago
Here from TPM

……But the most interesting data in the latest batch of polls comes from the McClatchy/Marist poll. In this poll, released on the 31st, Trump has an approval number at 38%, down from 41% in February, broadly in line with other polls. Lee Miringoff, who runs the Marist poll, discusses the various details of the poll here. Really every number is dismal. But this, I think, is the most significant. From the Marist write-up …

There has been a profound shift in public opinion about whether or not President Trump is fulfilling campaign promises. 57% of Americans either strongly agree, 18%, or agree, 39%, that Trump is making good on the promises he made on the campaign trail. This is down from 71% in February. Regardless of party, fewer voters think he is keeping his word. Of note, 83% of Trump’s Republican base, down from 96% previously, believe Trump is fulfilling campaign promises.“President Trump needs a major legislative win to get on track,” says Dr. Lee M. Miringoff, Director of The Marist College Institute for Public Opinion. “No doubt the GOP in Congress will be closely watching the president’s standing among Republican voters.”

Those are steep drops and this is the big danger for Trump – likely a much greater danger, in the short term at least, than the scandal investigations most politicos are focusing on. Trump’s inability to repeal Obamacare is, I suspect, most of what is showing up in this drop. He simply failed to do something that, at least in numerical congressional majority terms, should have been simple. That made him look weak and ineffectual – frankly, silly. That and not corruption or ties with Russia is what will eventually sink Trump with his base.

More TPM

28 Responses to “Fake news is working, Trump’s poll numbers dropping”

  1. The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing – Br Andrew's Muses Says:

    […] Fake news is working, Trump’s poll numbers dropping […]

    Like

  2. The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing Says:

    […] Fake news is working, Trump’s poll numbers dropping […]

    Like

  3. gds44 Says:

    Reblogged this on Gds44's Blog.

    Like

  4. Steve Dennis Says:

    We thought more and more people were tuning out the MSM but it looks like they are not, it is only people on the right who are doing so, and they still have more influence than we thought. This is troubling. What is also troubling is that Maddow’s numbers have been increasing since her Trump tax return fail.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thank you Steve…. that was in the back of my mind when I read the polls and a good dot to connect to this…. I don’t know where these non political people are getting their talking points but they are obscure ones so I know they are being feed. Bannon? Now how the heck do they know anything about him when they know nothing about politics and until now did not care one hoot.

      Like

  5. Adrienne Says:

    Here’s Don Surber’s take on the subject…

    http://donsurber.blogspot.com/2017/04/why-approval-numbers-mean-nothing.html

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks for the link. My only comment is that there are a ton of people who are getting radicalized. Normal rational people…. well, I will put my tin foil on and pray you are right.

      Like

  6. Adrienne Says:

    So far I’m not concerned about anything that Trump has done or not done. I do think he needs to do a bit more housecleaning of unsavory peeps.

    Liked by 3 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Agree… I would like to see someone else for chief of staff… I think it is coming to that.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mustang Says:

    Popularity polls … good grief. All this really proves is that most Americans are too stupid for democracy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I fear that they are as I have expressed myself in other comments….. a cold wind crossed my heart…… not being dramatic of course!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Zilla Says:

    The polls are rigged. Don’t fall for the gaslighting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I am not falling for anything. I comment that there are many concerns about Trump voiced on your blog. I am suggesting we keep our eyes open and not be blinded by our own lens of seeing the world. His executive orders can only go so far. The polls I have looked are of our persuasion. Think Independents… those are the folks to be concerned about.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Zilla Says:

        The only concerns about Trump voiced on my blog are concerns for his safety. I love the guy.

        Like

      • bunkerville Says:

        Z.. I know you are for the guy but are you telling me you have not said one word of concern about him?

        Like

      • bunkerville Says:

        Zilla… my bad.. thinking of Z… see its over 90 degrees here in Florida! 100 degree heat index!!

        Liked by 2 people

  9. teelee2013 Says:

    None of my conservative friends have turned against President Trump. I’m thinking some of the polls are also fake news. I do agree that Congress needs to get their act together. I do hate what this country has become. We need to take it back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I agree,, the conservatives are holding… the independents I am concerned about. The polls I am looking at are ones that are from “our side” and just a concern to keep in mind.

      Like

  10. Linda Says:

    I’ll tell you, way too many snowflakes or people who just simply don’t care. The folks who do care and see this for what it is, know, Bunk. Most of have turned the TV off and get our news by variety of ways. I’m not sure if I agree with his head in his arse…but, I see Bannon has left his post. I think there are things going on behind the scenes and many others will fall…I see Bannon was instrumental in bringing Rice to the forefront of the recent news. I also see McMasters is doing his job, as is Mattis and a few others. I think I am liking this new Niki Haley. I think she is right f or the UN role. Enough parading around family, not that I have a issue with it…but he / Trump obviously only trusts certain folks…just my 2 cents.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I heard as well about Bannon. With the media against Trump he needs to be more careful of giving them grist for the mill. Rinse needs to go… I don’t think he is the man for chief of staff… and we need to be mindful that most are not wonks like we are….

      Like

      • Linda Says:

        I agree with your assessment of Reince…I think though, he has done alright…I think Ryan has to go, PERIOD. I was happy to read that the Freedom Caucus sent a letter to Trump stating their position and that Ryan was pointed out as stabbing Trump in the back. I think, Reince is working hard to shake off the RNC/Ryan. I guess you could say I’m on the fence about Reince. I think the dems and rinos will stop at nothing to get Trump impeached…as for McCain–and his buddy Graham, they need to be held accountable for the British spy issue. I also don’t think Trump really understood the depth of these traitors in DC. I think all in all, he is doing alright. Also, all in all, I think its wise he has his son inlaw and daughter there to keep him straight. I’m just indifferent to that issue. Folks need to get off social media and cable TV and really do some homework on the topics, but most are too lazy…like those snowflakes. I, for one, like Trump tweeting, you can tell when he tweets and then a staffer—maybe his daughter who writes them, lol. I also like Diamond and Silk–theyre a hoot! lol–BTW, Bunk, LOVING how Judge Napotalinio (sp?) has been found right…and so has Trump. Too bad FOX hasn’t apologized to him.

        Liked by 1 person

      • bunkerville Says:

        Good points Linda… Ryan is no friend. Ryan isn’t going anywhere soon. Who told Trump to get behind Ryan an throw the Freedom Caucus to the wolves? Thats the traitor.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Laura Bernard Mielcarek Says:

    The media and polls were wrong and lying before the election, now, after the election….dah, dah, dah…they’re still wrong and lying.

    Media and polls…pffft!

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      I hope so…. but nothing is being covered about the nasty stuff going down. It has to be taking a toll. I can’t even stand living where I do as well as my friends. It is none stop all the time. They never even heard of Rice… just saying…I got a bad feeling. Trump has not handled the vetting of imports or Obamacare very well at all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • petermac3 Says:

        Absolutely correct Bunker. Watergate was a kindergarten prank in comparison yet it brought down a president while Obama with Rice doing his unscrupulous bidding bordering on illegal, will suffer nothing this sexually confused perpetually vacationing mulatto , nada! A media and bureaucray that worked tirelessly day and night to destroy Nixon and the GOP kneel at the alter of a president who after announcing he intended do so tried to take down this country; to fundamentally change it. Hopefully it only appears that Trump has his head up his ass.

        Liked by 2 people

      • bunkerville Says:

        “Hopefully it only appears that Trump has his head up his ass.” Bingo. Trotting out his son and daughter- his daughter talking about Syria and her husband over in Iraq did nothing to impress me…

        Liked by 2 people

  12. petermc3 Says:

    The media engendered non-stop drumbeat of disorganization in the White House and administration in general along with a perception of failure as well has created an overall atmosphere of despair and disappointment among the great unwashed on the right. Lets face it with only three months to go how can Trump trump (pun intended) Obama’s July, 2009 Beer Summit or his bowing to the Saudis or his Nobel Peace Prize awarded in October of 2009, a celebration of his pigmentation? Meanwhile reigning in the EPA, reopening the Keystone pipeline, rolling back regulations that hamper american business, planning for a wall on the southern border to stop human and drug trafficking pale in comparison to the achievements of a president who in his first year laid the groundwork to set the middle east on fire, a man who set the stage to divide the american people along racial, gender, religious, income and political lines? A president who with a phone and a pen set out to circumvent the Constitution. ! Que lastima!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I doubt many even know about what you write. This was a well planned and well organized attack on the new administration. The drum beat against Trump is endless. No reports on his successes. But Congress will buck him all the way.

      Liked by 3 people


Leave a Reply

