Sunday Respite – ‘Don’t cry for me Argentina’


This piece seemed very appropriate considering all we have been through with the WH this week. I thought about a Tango, but settled on this one. I prefer Patti Lupone’s rendition, though Madonna’s version is not bad.

11 Responses to “Sunday Respite – ‘Don’t cry for me Argentina’”

  1. Sunday Respite – ‘Don’t cry for me Argentina’ – Br Andrew's Muses Says:

    […] Source: Sunday Respite – ‘Don’t cry for me Argentina’ […]

    Like

  2. My Article Read (4-3-2016) – My Daily Musing Says:

    […] Sunday Respite – ‘Don’t cry for me Argentina’ […]

    Like

  3. the unit Says:

    Beautiful music and song. I don’t know much of the politics there.
    From Wiki here is what the Brits thought…
    During the 1982 Falklands War between the United Kingdom and Argentina, the song was sometimes played sarcastically by British regimental bands as they deployed to the Falklands. They changed the lyrics, singing it as “You don’t frighten me Argentina / The truth is we will defeat you / We’ll sink your carrier, with our Sea Harrier / And with our Sea Kings subs’ll be sinking”
    I understand the Sea Kings retired by the Brits now and the squadron stood down as well. Who needs a fighting force now in the NWO?

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      I recall we didn’t support the Brits during the Falkland war.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit Says:

        I must say I don’t remember our governments official missionary position during that conflict. Reading about Eva was interesting on Wiki. Maybe one day we will hear Melania sing a song of don’t cry for me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. petermc3 Says:

    This reminds me that my memory is intact. I saw her on Broadway in Evita on Lincoln’s Birthday, February 12th, 1980. As for Argentina, last meaningful thing to come out of that shit hole was the tango.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Wow. Bet it was worth the price in those days. Cry for all of us these days.

      Like

  5. viburnum Says:

    I won’t cry for Argentina, but I’m sure to shed a few tears for what used to be America.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Fair statement. All in our lifetime.

      Like

  6. Always On Watch Says:

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I always loved her voice. Apparently she has spent most of her career on Broadway.

      Like


Leave a Reply

