Sunday Respite – ‘Keep on the Sunny Side’


I guess I have grown nostalgic for the old days and times. With the stress of these days, Mother Maybelle reminds us to “Keep on the Sunny Side.” I sure am trying!  Spring is in the air, days are getting longer.Make it a good day folks.

Mother Maybelle Carter and her daughters Helen & Anita plays an old Carter Family classic, “Keep On The Sunny Side”

There’s a dark and a troubled side of life
There’s a bright and a sunny side too
Though we meet with the darkness and strife
The sunny side we also may view
Keep on the sunny side   always on the sunny side
Keep on the sunny side of life
It will help us every day it will brighten all our way
If we keep on the sunny side of life
Oh the storm and its fury broke today
Crushing hopes that we cherish so dear
The clouds and storm will in time pass away
The sun again will shine bright and clear
Let us greet with a song of hope each day
Though the moment be cloudy or fair
Let us trust in our Savior always
To keep us every one in His care

9 Responses to “Sunday Respite – ‘Keep on the Sunny Side’”

  1. My Article Read (3-6-2016) – My Daily Musing Says:

    […] Sunday Respite – ‘Keep on the Sunny Side’ […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit Says:

    This morning after watching the video, the boxes that could be checked had one for Wild Bill Elliot…The Man from Tumbleweeds. I haven’t watched it yet, but will.
    Somehow earlier I hit on Red Ryder with him in it. ’40’s blazing six guns, says “somebody has got to stand for law and order.”
    Yeah B western, but better’n than the ’50’s Reagan in ‘Law and Order’ where he only will stand for the town if everybody turns in their guns, and Randolph Scott (forget movie name) who throws away his guns in the end.
    And in it Wild Bill changes his mind when confronted with evidence of wrong doing. A flip flop?
    P.S. The future Cisco Kid in movie.
    If you should want to watch… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit Says:

    Nice consoling music. However as you mention…stress. I’ve never in my life felt so much at election time. I even lie to my doctor knowing medical records subject to review by the government. In 2008 was relieved HRC didn’t get the nomination. So nothing to worry myself over. Then in 2012, Mickey Mouse could beat Obama. So nothing to worry myself over Then in 2014 Republicans had the house and senate. So nothing to worry myself over. What me worry in 2016? lol
    P.S. I voted in Florida primary on Friday. I done all I can do ’til November. Everybody got to pick their own choosing.
    All I’ll say is establishment got one less vote.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Nice round up unit of those matters that keep us off the sunny side of the street!🙂 Keep the faith brother.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit Says:

        I hated to do it…keeping off the sunny side of street called life. However I was getting close to Sunday afternoon nap time.

        Like

  4. Adrienne Says:

    Don’t you just love the pretty dresses women used to wear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Ah, the good old days when one could tell who was who!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. petermc3 Says:

    Wildwood Flower was and always will be my favorite Carter family performance. Hey Bunker how come Reese isn’t in this picture? 😄

    Like

    • bunkerville Says:

      You got me on that one. I usually just heard them on the radio out of Wheeling WVA. Didn’t get many visuals on a Saturday night sitting back in the easy chair listening to the radio! 🙂 Hey, there I go again. Those were the easy days and never knew it.

      Like


Leave a Reply

