Sunday Respite – ‘In the Bleak Midwinter’


A powerful winter piece by Loreena McKennitt from her last album A Midwinter Night’s Dream.

The United Methodist Hymnal Number 221
Text: Christina G. Rossetti, 1830-1894
Music: Gustav Holst, 1874-1934
Tune: CRANHAM, Meter: Irr.

In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,
Earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone;
Snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow,
In the bleak midwinter, long ago.
Our God, Heaven cannot hold Him, nor earth sustain;
Heaven and earth shall flee away when He comes to reign.
In the bleak midwinter a stable place sufficed
The Lord God Almighty, Jesus Christ.
Angels and archangels may have gathered there,
Cherubim and seraphim thronged the air;
But His mother only, in her maiden bliss,
Worshipped the beloved with a kiss.
What can I give Him, poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb;
If I were a Wise Man, I would do my part;
Yet what I can I give Him: give my heart.

12 Responses to “Sunday Respite – ‘In the Bleak Midwinter’”

  1. the unit Says:

    No political consternations today from me. The Respite beautiful music and appreciate being able to hear it.
    I couldn’t toot a note or strum a hummm…
    As the Justice said describing beautiful music… I could never succeed in intelligibly doing so. But I know it when I hear it. 🙂 So thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Glad you enjoyed it Unit.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Stacey Ann Says:

    Love this! Great music & photography–perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. Stop by again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. CopyCat Dee™ Says:

    Beautiful words! Love it so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks Dee, and thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

      • CopyCat Dee™ Says:

        You’re welcome! And must I say, your website is really interesting, keep up the great job you’re doing!🙂

        Like

  4. Adrienne Says:

    Lovely words and music, Bunk. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks A. Sure not snowy down here in Florida. Third tornado in a week. Two touched down a few miles away! Love the artist.

      Like

      • Adrienne Says:

        I saw that on the news. Made me not feel so crabby about a little snow. Glad one didn’t land on you.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. hocuspocus13 Says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx♦xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks so much!! I love her work.

      Like


Leave a Reply

