Sunday Respite- ‘Tight Rope’


Here are my sentiments for today.

I’m up on the tightwire
One side’s ice and one is fire
Its a circus game with you and me
I’m up on the tightrope
One side’s hate and one is hope
But the tophat on my head is all you see
And the wire seems to be
The only place for me
A comedy of errors
And I’m falling

**Chorus**
Like a rubber-neck giraffe
You look into my past
Well maybe you’re just to blind to – see
I’m up in the spotlight
Ohh does it feel right
Ohh the altitude
Seems to get to me

I’m up on the tightwire
Flanked by life and the funeral pyre
Putting on a show
For you to see

**Chorus**
Like a rubber-neck giraffe
You look into my past
Well maybe you’re just too blind to – see
I’m up in the spotlight
Ohh does it feel right
Ohh the altitude
Really gets to get to me

I’m up on the tightwire
Flanked by life and the funeral pyre
Putting on a show for you to see

14 Responses to “Sunday Respite- ‘Tight Rope’”

  1. geeez2014 Says:

    Leon has always been a HUUUUGE favorite of mine. I was surprised how good the ‘new’ Elton John/Leon Russell CD is….I highly recommend it. And I’m not a huge Elton fan.
    Delta Lady, A Song for You (“I love you in a place where there’s no space in time..” “and if my words don’t come together, listen to the melody cuz my love’s in there hiding”….Oh, bliss!), WONDERFUL music. Great piano.
    Thanks…and yes, Tightrope is a great one for today’s gloom and doom……”doesn’t feel good”..That’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      Thanks Z– I will have to re-enjoy. I guess I am showing my age!🙂 Ah, the good old days.. 🙂

      Like

  2. petermc3 Says:

    Actually I like two other of Russell’s songs a bit more than Tightrope, Lady Blue and A Song For You. Tightrope of course lends itself to political metaphor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bunkerville Says:

      I went for the metaphor. It seemed appropriate considering the doom and gloom we face

      Like

      • petermc3 Says:

        Absolutely…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit Says:

    What I get is blogging and commenting is like a tightrope every day now. Life and funeral pyre. I’ll lean toward life in my balancing show, not toward funeral pyre of submission Islam requires. It does take 81 mg aspirin though to keep my blood thin and BP down daily. And well a few more meds. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      Love your comment Unit. Yes, can’t beat the living thing no matter what the downside of living in this time.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. petermc3 Says:

    Leon Russell from his Carney album ( I have the original in my collection). I was always fond of this song.

    Liked by 2 people

    • bunkerville Says:

      It has been awhile– actually decades, I will look them up. Loved his stuff, but the memory bank is a little off.

      Like

      • petermc3 Says:

        I believe he also wrote Delta Lady, can’t covered by Joe Cocker.

        Liked by 1 person

      • bunkerville Says:

        Does Danny O’Keefe ring a bell? Back in the Seventies, loved his stuff, though not much heard of. Heard him a couple of times.

        Like

      • petermc3 Says:

        I believe he had a hit with Goodtime Charlie’s got the Blues

        Like

      • petermc3 Says:

        P.S. Hunker, I take requests.😀

        Liked by 2 people

      • petermc3 Says:

        Typo, I meant Bunker😁

        Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

